Watch the video above and talk about it with a friend or mentor.

Navigating a faith transition can feel a lot like going through the stages of grief - but there is hope at the end of the road.

Key Points:

  • Shock.
  • Denial.
  • Anger.
  • Sorrow.
  • Acceptance.
  • Resolution or hope.
  • How to help others.

See Also: Emotions

Talk About It
  1. Why is it helpful to identify “stages of grief”?
  2. What stage are you currently in? Explain.
  3. What stage has been the hardest or most consuming for you, and why?
  4. Do you ever find yourself going backwards instead of forwards in this process? Why do you think that is? 
  5. Dr. Wilder recommends not getting mired in all the problems of LDS history. Do you agree or disagree, and why?
  6. Explain how surrender to Jesus is a powerful element of getting to resolution.

This is part of the 2018 Faith After Mormonism Conference series.